Summit County Planning Commissions

Summit County has five planning commissions charged with review, approval and recommendation authority for various types of development. Each of the four basins (Tenmile, Upper Blue, Lower Blue and Snake River) has its own planning commission, and there is one Countywide Planning Commission.

The Board of Adjustment considers variance applications to provide relief in cases of development hardships, as provided by Colorado State Statutes.

All board members are Summit County citizens appointed by the Board of County Commissioners.
Summit County is Seeking Planning Commissioners
Summit County Planning Department is inviting community-minded citizens to apply to serve on the Lower Blue, Snake River, Tenmile, Upper Blue and Countywide planning commissions, and the Board of Adjustment.

These commissions play vital roles in the land-use planning and development-review process in unincorporated areas of Summit County.

Applicants must have resided in Summit County for at least one year. Those applying to a planning commission for a specific basin must reside in that basin.

Fill out an application form today. Deadline: 5 p.m., Feb. 8.

Serving as a Planning Commissioner

Watch the video below to learn about the roles and responsibilities of planning commissioners.